Castleton Bridge. © Local studies, Link4lifeCastleton Bridge. © Local studies, Link4life

Castleton Lock 51

It is believed the first inhabitants settled in the area in the early 1700s. Until 1975 Castleton was known as Blue Pits – the name derived from a small local quarry which mined a blue-coloured sand. In 1875 Blue Pits became an Urban District Council and changed its name to Castleton. The name has a fascinating history. Somewhere on the hills of Castleton Moor stood an old Saxon castle or watch tower, although no remains are left today, the landmark was referred to as the ‘Castle on the Ton’ due to its elevated position.

Around the area:

  • Castleton Rail Station
  • Slattocks Lock 54